There has been a lot of confusion about inbound travellers from high-risk countries not being allowed to disembark from international flights arriving in South Africa from their home countries – including the US, UK, France, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Iran, China and South Korea – but Airports Company South Africa said today (March 23) it was, and remains, the responsibility of the respective airlines to inform travellers of the situation.

As Tourism Update reported over the weekend, Acsa had sent back 14 flights from various countries on Friday.

 “It is the responsibility of the airline to take care of the passengers who are not allowed to disembark according to the new regulation,” said Senior Manager of Corporate Affairs at Acsa, Betty Maloka.

“The passengers were kept on the aircraft until the time of the airline’s next slot and were taken care of by the airline,” she added.

CEO of South African Tourism, Sisa Ntshona, told Tourism Update that travellers, and the trade booking their travel, needed to accept responsibility to inform themselves of changing flight circumstances, as all countries’ situations changed so quickly. 

“Travellers need to communicate with the airline they have booked with or their consulate to ensure they don’t find themselves in a similar situation.”