An intergovernmental visa waiver agreement between Russia and Botswana, signed by Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Sergey Lavrov at the St Petersburg International Economic Forum in June, will come into effect on October 8.

“Under the agreement, citizens of Russia and Botswana who don’t plan to work, study or permanently reside in the other country, don’t need a visa to enter and stay in the country or travel by transit, provided that their stay does not exceed 30 days,” the statement says.