The Lilizela Tourism Awards has added several new sub-categories to its accommodation and venues categories. Since its inception in 2013, the awards have grown to include the following main categories: Accommodation, Venues, Tour Guides, Tour Operators, Visitor Experience of the Year, Universal Accessibility, ETEYA and We/I do Tourism.

New additions to the accommodation category include the following sub-categories:

  • Apartment Hotel
  • Boutique Hotel
  • Nature Lodge
  • Small Hotel
  • Campsite
  • A camping facility that doesn’t specify that caravans can be accommodated.

New additions to the Venues category (Formerly known as MESE) include the following:

  • Conference Centre
  • Convention & Exhibition Centre
  • Historical Venue
  • Events Venue
  • Function Venue
  • In-Hotel Conference Centre

The deadline for final submissions has been extended to June 11 to allow establishments and product owners more time to familiarise themselves with the additional sub categories.

Chief Quality Assurance Officer at South African Tourism, Darryl Erasmus said: “This extension allows more time for South African tourism product owners to submit their applications and consumers to vote for their establishment of choice. This being a nationwide competition and targeting a wide range of categories in the tourism sector, we want to ensure that as many of the interested parties as possible get an opportunity to enter.”

Further details on how to enter the Lilizela Tourism Awards can be found here