The South African Department of Home Affairs has waived visa requirements for visitors from the Republic of Tunisia in an effort to attract tourists.

The agreement is reciprocal and implementation will be decided and communicated after the two countries have agreed on a date, says Siya Qoza, Spokesperson of the Minister of Home Affairs.

Eighty-three countries no longer require visas to visit South Africa. They include New Zealand, Saudi Arabia and Ghana, which were also added to the list this year.