Effective January 1, The Blue Train’s Pretoria to Cape Town route (and vice versa) is now a two-night journey, instead of one. Further updates from The Blue Train include a station change on the route, as the Pretoria Station closed on December 14 for infrastructure upgrades and will reopen on February 28.

Landlords and custodians of all South African national railway stations, the Passenger Rail Association of South Africa (Prasa), informed The Blue Train that the rail infrastructure, including the signalling systems and sleepers of Pretoria Station are outdated and needed to be replaced, hence the two-and-a-half-month upgrade. During this time, no trains, passenger or freight, will be allowed access to Pretoria Station.

Progress has been made and new plans have been put in place to ensure that guests of The Blue Train disembark closer to Pretoria Station, which will be Kloofsig Station in the Pretoria area, two stations away from Pretoria Station.

The Blue Train has asked the trade to bear in mind that management will continuously try to improve alternative plans during the Pretoria Station closure.

The Blue Train schedule for January and February is as follows:

Pretoria to Cape Town

For all January and February departures, the 2019 itinerary will not be affected, except that departure will take place at The Blue Train Depot at 18h30. Guests will still check in at the Pretoria Station lounge, on the corner of Paul Kruger and Scheiding street. Transfers are arranged to the depot to board The Blue Train.

Cape Town to Pretoria

For all trips from Cape Town to Pretoria, the 2019 itinerary will not be affected, except the arrival place and time. The Blue Train will not arrive or stop at Pretoria Station, but at Kloofsig Station at 10h30. All transfers are to be directed to Kloofsig Station and should be waiting for guests by 10h00.